MESA Applicants – Host View

<- Return to Listings |

Emelina Elvira

Available beginning in November 2023

[Personal Information]

Age 23 Sex Female
Date of Birth August 24, 1998    
Birthplace city/town Huánuco    
Citizen of Peru Resident Country Peru
Email Address [email protected] Passport Name N/A
 
I live by myself Height 1.5 Weight 52kg
 
I am currently.. Volunteering/Apprentincing, Part-time student
Main Occupation or Current Field of Study Promotora Ambiental
# Years of Experience in above work or study 2 años Como promotora Ambiental- 4 años Como estudiante de Administration of Empress
Highest Degree or Certificate Awarded or Expected Licenciatura en Asministración Empresarial
Date Degree/Certificate was Awarded or is Expected December 24, 2024
Highest Level of Education College/University
Highest Degree or Certificate High School Diploma
What is the Title of Your Degree? (Select)
 
I drink beer/wine/alcohol Infrequently/only on special occassions I smoke never
   
 

[Home Address]

Street/Apartment # Jr. Maria Parado de Bellido City Aucayacu State/Province Leoncio Prado
Country Peru/Aucayacu Postal Code 51922133704  
 

[Telephone Number]

Country code 51 City code 10001 Phone Number 922133704
 

[Emergency Contact]

Name Maglorio Relationship Padre Phone Number or email 931319847
 

[Family&Health]

I have(#of brothers, #of sisters, #of children) I am Single
My health is Excellent. I’ve never had a serious illness or injury.
Describe any recent or chronic illnesses or injuries. If you require ongoing medicines or treatment, please describe.

I did not suffer from any injuries, nor diseases nor do I consume any type of treatment.

 

[English Skills]

My English comprehension and conversational skills are 50% I can have a basic conversation as long as you speak slowly
If you checked 30% or less, how will you improve your English between now and U.S. arrival?
I have received formal English instruction/training (check all that apply):
Or (check if applicable)…
 

 

[Driving Skill]

I know how to drive a car No
I have a valid home country driver’s license
How many years have you driven cars?
I drive
I have driven cars with
If required for training, I am comfortable driving a car in Rural areas
 

[I have..]

1. I have been arrested No
-If yes, please describe the circumstances
2. I have been denied a visa No
-If yes, please describe the circumstances
3. I have family obligation to send money home No
-If yes, please describe the circumstances
4. I have religious restrictions or observances No
-Please describe your religious restrictions or observance
5. I have dietary requirements/Food restrictions No
-Please describe the food(s) you do not eat
6. I have friends / family in the U.S. No
-Please describe your relationship and where they live
7. My religion is Christian
-Do you want to be placed with a religiously observant Host? Doesn’t Matter
8. Have you ever lived outside your family home? Yes
-Where Lima, Peru
9. Have you ever visited the United States? No
-Please state when, how long and purpose(s).
10. Have you visited any other countries in the last five years? No
-List the countries and purpose of your visit(s)?
 

[Training Objectives & Availability]

Provide a BRIEF description of your training objectives and the type of placement that you seek (80 words maximum!):

learn more about agriculture, management, care, etc. especially in a totally different environment, which makes it even more unique, expand my vocabulary in English and thereby grow professionally and as a good citizen.

US Program I am applying for:
Sustinable Agriculture and Global Exchange (SAGE): First-time participants
I can start anytime within the next
1-12 months
I’m available to participate in US training for a maximum of:
1 year (maximum)
I have already been accepted to train with the following US Host placement ( provide placement name and contact information)
 

[Self-Evaluation]

I am clear on my training objectives Yes! I want to be a farmer Mostly
I want a career in agriculture, but not necessarily as a farmer Yes! I like to have clear instructions before doing a task Yes!
I like to take initiative and start new projects Yes! I am flexible and able to adapt to sudden changes Yes!
I enjoy routine and consistency in my schedule Yes I enjoy frequent challenges and new responsibilities Yes!
I ask for help if I don’t understand something Yes! I prefer to follow the lead of others Mostly
I like to offer suggestions and share my opinions Yes! I can do and be satisfied with repetetive tasks Yes!
I welcome critical feedback and use the information to improve myself Yes! I prefer working with others Mostly
I prefer working alone/independently No    
 
[I am comfortable with…]
People of different religious beliefs Yes Receiving instruction from a female supervisor Yes
Having an un-married couple as my supervisors Yes Sharing a family house with children No
Sharing a family house with pets No Cooking my own daily meals Yes
Cooking for others once or twice each week Yes Sharing household chores (including cooking) Yes
Living/Training where my native language is not spoken Yes Living/Training in a remote, rural location where the Host family is my primary social group Yes
Living/Training where there is no public transportation No Training with farm animals Yes
Living/Training in very rustic living conditions (e.g. uninsulated lodging or tent sleeping, compost toilet, outdoor shower, wood-stove, other) No
If you selected “No” for any of the above, please state why you would not be comfortable

I would not like it too rustic since I would like to have a space for my intrapersonal development

 

[Agricultural Experience]

 
How many years of agricultural experience do you have?
3
My hands-on experience in agriculture includes
less than 6 hours of manual labor per day.
I have the following agricultural experience
Administrative/office work involving agriculture, Advising farmers about organic methods and/or certification, Hands on farm labor (e.g. planting, weeding, harvesting, livestock care, etc.)
List any agriculture courses that you’ve taken

1. monitoring of organic gardens.

2. vegetable production

Any workshops in sustainable, organic or ecological farming? Please describe

1. organic garden installation workshop

2. organic banana plantation management workshop

[Work Experience]

Job #1

Ing. Ines saldaña

Aucayacu-Huanuco-Peru

Environmental Promoter

I also work on my farm where I supervise the planting and harvesting.

Dates worked : from – to 1/11/2021 – 25/12/2021
Primary work duties

report the most up-to-date news both in the political, environmental and social fields.

Job #2

Victor Ambicho

Aucayacu-Huanuco-Peru

Vocation social communicator (reporter)

Dates worked: from – to 3/01/2021 – 12/01/2022
Primary work duties
 
[Family Farm]
If you grew up on a family farm, what type of farm? We have a farm, where we plant various types of banana, among other fruits.
If your family has a farm, please describe its products, sales, etc.:

We have a farm, where we plant various types of banana, among other fruits.

If you help with your family farm, please describe your responsibilities
On my family farm, I work (Select)
If you are currently employed, do you plan to return to this same job after MESA? Yes
Please state why or why not

I specifically do not work on my parents’ farm, I help them without any kind of remuneration

 
[Skills]
Please describe any volunteer activities or community groups you are affiliated with, if any

Youth environmental promoters

Please list the type(s) of farm machinery, tractors and/or vehicles that you’re experienced using

I have no experience with agricultural machinery

If you have any mechanical repair skills, please describe

I have not

Please describe specific agricultural and/or work skills that a prospective Host may like to know

sow plantations, planting and harvesting vegetables

Any additional skills or specialties you’d like a prospective Host to know about you?

I really like music, especially singing

 

[Training Objectives & Preferred Host Placements]

   
First Choice Coffee and Cacao
Provide additional examples for your selected choice
Do you have hands-on experience in your 1st choice? Yes
Describe any experience you have in your 1st placement choice

sowing, cultivation, production and harvest

Aucayacu-Huanuco-Peru

4 Years

Second Choice Nursery/Green house
Provide additional examples for your selected choice
Do you have hands-on experience in your 2nd choice? Yes
Describe any experience you have in your 2nd placement choice

Implementation of a Nursery:

Choosing a suitable place for the implementation of the nursery, also carried out the production of organic land, through organic waste, which is recycled by the families of my city, for 1 year.

Third Choice Livestock: other
Provide additional examples for your selected choice
Do you have hands-on experience in your 3rd choice? No
Describe any experience you have in your 3rd placement choice
Choose up to 5 other areas of interest that will help MESA match you with your US Host Agri-tourism, Biodiversity, Cheese-making, Compost, Marketing/Distribution

Required

Applicant Photo
Reference Letter1  
Reference Letter2

Optional files to strengthen your application:

Your Personal statement  
C.V. or Resumé, if you have one https://apply.mesaprogram.org/wp-content/uploads/sites/4/formidable/124/CV-OFICIAL-EMELINA-RAFAELO.docx

Return to Listings