Return to Listings |  |  

Los Gatos Homestead

California, United States
MESA Notes – Public
Website :
Blog, Online Newsletter, etc. :
Public Contact Information:
[email protected]

About the Placement:

Detailed Placement Description

There are some specific activities we need done – primary using goats and other animals to clear brush around the house. By installing some permanent fencing as we go. The project will become easier as we go. We can support a special interest such as bee keeping, aquaponics, garden market etc by giving the steward space to do this projects and providing some capital to get started.

Primary Production :

Vegetables, Tree fruits, Pork, Goats


About the Internship

Availability:

Accepting Stewards

Training Hours:

32-40

Training Expectations :

Manage rotational grazing program including creating a paddock shift system. Install fixed parallel fencing along a keyline. Help maintain fruit trees and a small garden. There would be a few hours of work each day, but there would be time for both personal projects and off-site learning.

On-Site Training, Steward’s primary activities :

~1-2 hours/day checking on and moving animals (goats, pigs, chickens); ~2-3 hours/day infrastructure improvements (extending fencing and waterlines, etc); 1-2 hours/day during your personal farm project ~1hr/day non-farm help – running errands, etc – a driver’s license would be required.

Climate and Location Description

Edge of town, but public transportation is difficult. It is a Mediterranean climate with wet winters and dry hot summers. We live in a beautiful place close to the city with many activities. We are close to San Francisco. We live near a local college to English or Business classes (no ag classes offered) There are many opportunities to learn nearby – bee guild, farmer’s market, seminars.

Compensation :

$600/mo, Private room in house, Free, daily food, Vehicle; help support a personal project

Accommodations and amenities provided :

You would have your own room and bathroom in our house shared with our family – me Patrick, my wife Sue, son Ryan (10), daughter Zoe (8) . Free internet, food, and use of a vehicle.

Preferred start date :

after Aug

Preferred length of internship :

12 months