MESA Applicants – Host View

<- Return to Listings |

Mahiler Mirco

Available beginning in March 2023. Advance in soil management. Interest: horticulture, poultry, pigs

[Personal Information]

Age 25 Sex Male
Date of Birth May 27, 1996    
Birthplace city/town Huicungo    
Citizen of Peru Resident Country Peru
Email Address [email protected] Passport Name N/A
 
I live with my parents Height 1.65 Weight 75
 
I am currently.. Employed Part-time, Working on a farm – Part-time, Volunteering/Apprentincing
Main Occupation or Current Field of Study Soil and Water Conservation Engineer
# Years of Experience in above work or study 5 years
Highest Degree or Certificate Awarded or Expected Doctorate
Date Degree/Certificate was Awarded or is Expected July 21, 2021
Highest Level of Education College/University
Highest Degree or Certificate College/University Degree
What is the Title of Your Degree? Bachelor’s
 
I drink beer/wine/alcohol Infrequently/only on special occassions I smoke never
   
 

[Home Address]

Street/Apartment # Pje. 28 de Julio – Barrio la Victoria City Huicungo State/Province Mariscal Cáceres
Country Peru/Huicungo Postal Code 22621  
 

[Telephone Number]

Country code 51 City code 42 Phone Number 969909468
 

[Emergency Contact]

Name Gaby Vasques Gonzales Relationship Sister Phone Number or email +51 987811337
 

[Family&Health]

I have(#of brothers, #of sisters, #of children) I am Single
My health is Excellent. I’ve never had a serious illness or injury.
Describe any recent or chronic illnesses or injuries. If you require ongoing medicines or treatment, please describe.

I don’t suffer from any illness for now, I try to exercise and be healthy.

 

[English Skills]

My English comprehension and conversational skills are 80% I can have a basic conversation on topics like politics, religion, or the environment
If you checked 30% or less, how will you improve your English between now and U.S. arrival?
I have received formal English instruction/training (check all that apply):
Or (check if applicable)…
 

 

[Driving Skill]

I know how to drive a car No
I have a valid home country driver’s license
How many years have you driven cars?
I drive
I have driven cars with
If required for training, I am comfortable driving a car in Rural areas
 

[I have..]

1. I have been arrested No
-If yes, please describe the circumstances
2. I have been denied a visa No
-If yes, please describe the circumstances
3. I have family obligation to send money home Yes
-If yes, please describe the circumstances

Helping my parents, who are older adults, financially.

4. I have religious restrictions or observances No
-Please describe your religious restrictions or observance
5. I have dietary requirements/Food restrictions No
-Please describe the food(s) you do not eat
6. I have friends / family in the U.S. No
-Please describe your relationship and where they live
7. My religion is Christian
-Do you want to be placed with a religiously observant Host? Doesn’t Matter
8. Have you ever lived outside your family home? Yes
-Where In Huánuco, for higher studies.
9. Have you ever visited the United States? No
-Please state when, how long and purpose(s).
10. Have you visited any other countries in the last five years? No
-List the countries and purpose of your visit(s)?
 

[Training Objectives & Availability]

Provide a BRIEF description of your training objectives and the type of placement that you seek (80 words maximum!):

My goal is that wherever I arrive, I can help in the workshops on sustainable management of the soil or the environment, in issues of vegetables or agroecology, at the same time learn from their teaching and work methodologies, I have experience dealing with children, young people and adults, so it would make it easier for me to adapt to working with them if required by the host place where I arrive.

US Program I am applying for:
Certificate in Applied Agroecology and Exchange Program (CAAPX) : CAAPX also includes Affiliate program candidates.
I can start anytime within the next
1-12 months
I’m available to participate in US training for a maximum of:
6 months
I have already been accepted to train with the following US Host placement ( provide placement name and contact information)
I have already been accepted to train with US Host placement
 

[Self-Evaluation]

I am clear on my training objectives Yes! I want to be a farmer Yes!
I want a career in agriculture, but not necessarily as a farmer Yes! I like to have clear instructions before doing a task Yes!
I like to take initiative and start new projects Yes! I am flexible and able to adapt to sudden changes Yes!
I enjoy routine and consistency in my schedule Yes I enjoy frequent challenges and new responsibilities Yes!
I ask for help if I don’t understand something Yes! I prefer to follow the lead of others Yes!
I like to offer suggestions and share my opinions Yes! I can do and be satisfied with repetetive tasks Yes!
I welcome critical feedback and use the information to improve myself Yes! I prefer working with others Yes!
I prefer working alone/independently No    
 
[I am comfortable with…]
People of different religious beliefs Yes Receiving instruction from a female supervisor Yes
Having an un-married couple as my supervisors Yes Sharing a family house with children Yes
Sharing a family house with pets Yes Cooking my own daily meals Yes
Cooking for others once or twice each week No Sharing household chores (including cooking) Yes
Living/Training where my native language is not spoken Yes Living/Training in a remote, rural location where the Host family is my primary social group Yes
Living/Training where there is no public transportation Yes Training with farm animals Yes
Living/Training in very rustic living conditions (e.g. uninsulated lodging or tent sleeping, compost toilet, outdoor shower, wood-stove, other) Yes
If you selected “No” for any of the above, please state why you would not be comfortable
 

[Agricultural Experience]

 
How many years of agricultural experience do you have?
5
My hands-on experience in agriculture includes
more than 6 hours of manual labor per day.
I have the following agricultural experience
Academic courses in agriculture, Supervising farm workers, Administrative/office work involving agriculture, Advising farmers about organic methods and/or certification, Hands on farm labor (e.g. planting, weeding, harvesting, livestock care, etc.)
List any agriculture courses that you’ve taken

*Agroecology

*Soil recovery

*Rural youth leadership

*Sustainability in food systems

Any workshops in sustainable, organic or ecological farming? Please describe

Yes, take a course of young ruralists in Peru, where you learned about how to do projects focused on sustainable agriculture, focused on gender, social and environmental lines.

[Work Experience]

Job #1

Foncodes/Bajo Huayabamba/Technical Assistance/Yachachiq

Dates worked : from – to 01/07/2021 – 30/03/2022
Primary work duties

Transmission of technology in compost preparation

and biol to cocoa and coffee cooperatives in the regions

of San Martin and Huanuco, as a national volunteer of

Farmer to Farmer.

Job #2

NCBA CLUSA/Uchiza/National Expert Volunteer/Farmer to Farmer

Dates worked: from – to 16/02/2021 – 30/02/2021
Primary work duties
 
[Family Farm]
If you grew up on a family farm, what type of farm? Organic family farm
If your family has a farm, please describe its products, sales, etc.:

We sell cocoa, orange, cassava, corn and cotton. And with regard to animals field chickens and pigs.

If you help with your family farm, please describe your responsibilities

I help with the pruning of cocoa cultivation, cultural management, providing food to chickens and pigs.

On my family farm, I work Part Time
If you are currently employed, do you plan to return to this same job after MESA? Yes
Please state why or why not

To put into practice the knowledge acquired and share it with my family and friends.

 
[Skills]
Please describe any volunteer activities or community groups you are affiliated with, if any

I am founder and national director this year, of the organization “agents for soil conservation”, where we work with young volunteers, in favor of transmitting the importance of conserving our soils through ancestral practices in agriculture, and the realization of communal vegetables, we also carry out informative and didactic fairs for all the public.

Please list the type(s) of farm machinery, tractors and/or vehicles that you’re experienced using

I have no experience of driving tractors, only bicycle, but I would like to learn.

If you have any mechanical repair skills, please describe

I have no experience in repair, but I would like to learn.

Please describe specific agricultural and/or work skills that a prospective Host may like to know

I have experience in preparation of organic fertilizers, compost, biol and biocide. In addition, I have planted vegetables such as cucumber, tomato, Chinese onion, coriander, lettuce and cabbage. Cocoa grafting, pruning and pest management, in terms of animal husbandry I have knowledge in chickens, guinea pigs and pigs.

Any additional skills or specialties you’d like a prospective Host to know about you?

Soil, water, vegetable and food analysis is performed, I have experience working in the laboratory.

 

[Training Objectives & Preferred Host Placements]

   
First Choice Coffee and Cacao
Provide additional examples for your selected choice
Do you have hands-on experience in your 1st choice? Yes
Describe any experience you have in your 1st placement choice

I grew up in the great of my parents, where we are dedicated to the cultivation of cocoa and through studies I was able to strengthen my knowledge more, located in San Martin, for more than 8 years.

Second Choice Farm education – Community
Provide additional examples for your selected choice
Do you have hands-on experience in your 2nd choice? Yes
Describe any experience you have in your 2nd placement choice

I have provided workshops on organic fertilizers and community vegetable management, in the San Martin region, for 3 years.

Third Choice Vegetables
Provide additional examples for your selected choice
Do you have hands-on experience in your 3rd choice? Yes
Describe any experience you have in your 3rd placement choice

Yes, I have experience in the production of vegetables such as coriander, cabbage, lettuce, Chinese onion, pickle and tomato, made in the community of Pizarro, with experience of one year.

Choose up to 5 other areas of interest that will help MESA match you with your US Host Community & farm education, Compost, Forestry, Soil fertility, Youth & farm education

Required

Applicant Photo
Reference Letter1  
Reference Letter2

Optional files to strengthen your application:

Your Personal statement  
C.V. or Resumé, if you have one https://apply.mesaprogram.org/wp-content/uploads/sites/4/formidable/124/Mahiler-Vasquez-CV-English.pdf

Return to Listings