MESA Applicants – Host View

<- Return to Listings |

Gladys Carolina Goñi Vega

Available beginning in June 2023

[Personal Information]

Age 26 Sex Female
Date of Birth October 22, 1995    
Birthplace city/town Jesús María/Lima    
Citizen of Peru Resident Country Peru
Email Address [email protected] Passport Name Goñi Vega
 
I live with my parents Height 1.72 Weight 65
 
I am currently.. Researcher and Thesist
Main Occupation or Current Field of Study Agronomist
# Years of Experience in above work or study More than 2 years
Highest Degree or Certificate Awarded or Expected Tittle as engennier
Date Degree/Certificate was Awarded or is Expected July 1, 2022
Highest Level of Education Bachelor
Highest Degree or Certificate College/University Degree
What is the Title of Your Degree? Bachelor’s
 
I drink beer/wine/alcohol Infrequently/only on special occassions I smoke never
   
 

[Home Address]

Street/Apartment # Street 5/Mz J lote 15 City Lima State/Province Lima
Country Peru/Lima Postal Code 1  
 

[Telephone Number]

Country code 51 City code 1 Phone Number 999984870
 

[Emergency Contact]

Name Jesús Goñi Vega Relationship Brother Phone Number or email 999984828
 

[Family&Health]

I have(#of brothers, #of sisters, #of children) 4, 4, 4 I am In a relationship, but not married
My health is Excellent. I’ve never had a serious illness or injury.
Describe any recent or chronic illnesses or injuries. If you require ongoing medicines or treatment, please describe.
 

[English Skills]

My English comprehension and conversational skills are 70% I can have a conversation on ‘everyday’ topics
If you checked 30% or less, how will you improve your English between now and U.S. arrival?
I have received formal English instruction/training (check all that apply):
Or (check if applicable)…
 

 

[Driving Skill]

I know how to drive a car Yes
I have a valid home country driver’s license Yes
How many years have you driven cars? 0
I drive Not very often
I have driven cars with Automatic transmission only
If required for training, I am comfortable driving a car in
 

[I have..]

1. I have been arrested No
-If yes, please describe the circumstances
2. I have been denied a visa No
-If yes, please describe the circumstances
3. I have family obligation to send money home No
-If yes, please describe the circumstances
4. I have religious restrictions or observances No
-Please describe your religious restrictions or observance
5. I have dietary requirements/Food restrictions No
-Please describe the food(s) you do not eat
6. I have friends / family in the U.S. No
-Please describe your relationship and where they live
7. My religion is Catholic
-Do you want to be placed with a religiously observant Host? No
8. Have you ever lived outside your family home? Yes
-Where Casma, Ancash, Perú
9. Have you ever visited the United States? No
-Please state when, how long and purpose(s).
10. Have you visited any other countries in the last five years? No
-List the countries and purpose of your visit(s)?
 

[Training Objectives & Availability]

Provide a BRIEF description of your training objectives and the type of placement that you seek (80 words maximum!):

I really into in sustainable agriculture specially in innovation processes carry on abroad, understand how small farmers can develop strong trade and management of their products. Because, when I return to my home country, I like to develop projects around biocomerce for farmers who want more support and effort to achieve the commerce of their crops or products derived from them.

US Program I am applying for:
Certificate in Applied Agroecology and Exchange Program (CAAPX) : CAAPX also includes Affiliate program candidates.
I can start anytime within the next
10 months
I’m available to participate in US training for a maximum of:
1 year (maximum)
I have already been accepted to train with the following US Host placement ( provide placement name and contact information)
 

[Self-Evaluation]

I am clear on my training objectives Yes! I want to be a farmer Mostly
I want a career in agriculture, but not necessarily as a farmer Yes! I like to have clear instructions before doing a task Yes!
I like to take initiative and start new projects Yes! I am flexible and able to adapt to sudden changes Mostly
I enjoy routine and consistency in my schedule Mostly I enjoy frequent challenges and new responsibilities Yes!
I ask for help if I don’t understand something Yes! I prefer to follow the lead of others Mostly
I like to offer suggestions and share my opinions Yes! I can do and be satisfied with repetetive tasks Mostly
I welcome critical feedback and use the information to improve myself Yes! I prefer working with others Mostly
I prefer working alone/independently Mostly    
 
[I am comfortable with…]
People of different religious beliefs Yes Receiving instruction from a female supervisor Yes
Having an un-married couple as my supervisors Yes Sharing a family house with children No
Sharing a family house with pets No Cooking my own daily meals Yes
Cooking for others once or twice each week Yes Sharing household chores (including cooking) Yes
Living/Training where my native language is not spoken No Living/Training in a remote, rural location where the Host family is my primary social group No
Living/Training where there is no public transportation No Training with farm animals No
Living/Training in very rustic living conditions (e.g. uninsulated lodging or tent sleeping, compost toilet, outdoor shower, wood-stove, other) No
If you selected “No” for any of the above, please state why you would not be comfortable

Children are a huge responsibility and I do not want a misunderstanding with their parents for any case or event.

I really like dogs, and probably I will feel nostalgic for leaving the host house. Further I know the puppies are kind of curious and want to bite everything around. Also I want to avoid allergic for the cat or dog fur that can affect my health.

For an hypothetical emergency, it is my belief that it’s important find a person or a place that can understand your native language, public transportation and basic services.

Is interesting work with farm animals if the farm or company have practices that can not affect health (parasites and so on) and teach me how to apply it.

 

[Agricultural Experience]

 
How many years of agricultural experience do you have?
3
My hands-on experience in agriculture includes
more than 6 hours of manual labor per day.
I have the following agricultural experience
Academic courses in agriculture, Administrative/office work involving agriculture, Hands on farm labor (e.g. planting, weeding, harvesting, livestock care, etc.)
List any agriculture courses that you’ve taken

Curses:

1. Integrated potato crop management.

2. Organic inspector training.

Some of the University courses:

1. Soil fertility, soil management and conservation.

2. Phytopathology

3. Entomology, biological control.

4. Tubers and roots,

5. Nurseries management

6. Beekeeping

Any workshops in sustainable, organic or ecological farming? Please describe

Yes, Organic inspector training by BIOLATINA.

[Work Experience]

Job #1

Autoridad Municipal de Los Pantanos de Villa (PROHVILLA)/Chorrillos, Lima/Internship at Cientific Research and Project development Office.

Dates worked : from – to June 2021 – December 2021
Primary work duties

Laboratory activities

Job #2

Universidad Nacional Agraria La Molina/ La Molina, Lima/ Thesist

Dates worked: from – to August 2020 – Octubre 2021
Primary work duties
 
[Family Farm]
If you grew up on a family farm, what type of farm?
If your family has a farm, please describe its products, sales, etc.:

My grandmother used to produce potato, and some other product that can develop in the highland (Ancash, Peru) like beans, corn and so on. Often, she rent her fields to other people or have people that take care of the crops.

If you help with your family farm, please describe your responsibilities
On my family farm, I work Not Applicable
If you are currently employed, do you plan to return to this same job after MESA? Not Applicable
Please state why or why not
 
[Skills]
Please describe any volunteer activities or community groups you are affiliated with, if any

None

Please list the type(s) of farm machinery, tractors and/or vehicles that you’re experienced using

None of them

If you have any mechanical repair skills, please describe
Please describe specific agricultural and/or work skills that a prospective Host may like to know

I have experience as a research in potato crop and ecosystem. Those improve my skills of communication and responsibility. I have other experience as a intern with mango crop, because of that I am able to evaluate its main pest and desease also its phenology.

Any additional skills or specialties you’d like a prospective Host to know about you?
 

[Training Objectives & Preferred Host Placements]

   
First Choice Nursery/Green house
Provide additional examples for your selected choice
Do you have hands-on experience in your 1st choice? Yes
Describe any experience you have in your 1st placement choice

I have the experience to make an essay with potato crop in aeropomic system at one of the UNALM greenhouse during summer of 2018.

Second Choice Biodiversity
Provide additional examples for your selected choice
Do you have hands-on experience in your 2nd choice? Yes
Describe any experience you have in your 2nd placement choice

My last experiences are related with potato biodiversity as a thesist, and with other colleges we won a fund by the ministry of education (MINEDU) for a project development about postharvest native potato tuber. Also in a native wetland flora research.

Third Choice Coffee and Cacao
Provide additional examples for your selected choice
Do you have hands-on experience in your 3rd choice? Yes
Describe any experience you have in your 3rd placement choice

Just University course in which the classroom travel to the jungle an saw some cacao fields, the post harvest management and the classification as organic, conventional and the product designation.

Choose up to 5 other areas of interest that will help MESA match you with your US Host Agri-tourism, Aquaponics, Biodynamic farming, Grass-fed, pasture systems, Hydroponics, Postharvest Processing

Required

Applicant Photo
Reference Letter1  
Reference Letter2

Optional files to strengthen your application:

Your Personal statement  
C.V. or Resumé, if you have one https://apply.mesaprogram.org/wp-content/uploads/sites/4/formidable/124/CVgonivega-150×150.jpg

Return to Listings