MESA Applicants – Host View

<- Return to Listings |

Gabriela Los Ríos Farfán

Available beginning in January 2023

[Personal Information]

Age 35 Sex Female
Date of Birth June 26, 1986    
Birthplace city/town Lima    
Citizen of Peru Resident Country Peru
Email Address [email protected] Passport Name De Los Ríos Farfán
 
I live with my spouse/children Height 1.55 Weight
 
I am currently.. Employed Part-time, Working on a farm – Part-time, Volunteering/Apprentincing
Main Occupation or Current Field of Study I am archaeologist and I’m studying agroecology and agricultural practices by my own. I work on my family farm part-time.
# Years of Experience in above work or study My family have a farm for the last 16 years, and we’ve worked there on weekends and vacations. The the last two years I am working there part-time.
Highest Degree or Certificate Awarded or Expected same as above
Date Degree/Certificate was Awarded or is Expected September 20, 2011
Highest Level of Education College/University
Highest Degree or Certificate College/University Degree
What is the Title of Your Degree? Bachelor’s
 
I drink beer/wine/alcohol Infrequently/only on special occassions I smoke never
   
 

[Home Address]

Street/Apartment # Montero Rosas 936 Santa Beatriz City Lima State/Province Lima
Country Peru/Lima Postal Code 15046  
 

[Telephone Number]

Country code 51 City code 1 Phone Number 943729182
 

[Emergency Contact]

Name Piero Angello Damiani Fontana Relationship spouse Phone Number or email [email protected]
 

[Family&Health]

I have(#of brothers, #of sisters, #of children) I am In a relationship, but not married
My health is Good. I’ve had minor illnesses or injuries.
Describe any recent or chronic illnesses or injuries. If you require ongoing medicines or treatment, please describe.

I had covid with no complications, I am in recuperation.

 

[English Skills]

My English comprehension and conversational skills are 60% I can have a conversation on ‘everyday’ topics with some misunderstandings
If you checked 30% or less, how will you improve your English between now and U.S. arrival?
I have received formal English instruction/training (check all that apply):
Or (check if applicable)…
 

 

[Driving Skill]

I know how to drive a car No
I have a valid home country driver’s license
How many years have you driven cars?
I drive
I have driven cars with
If required for training, I am comfortable driving a car in
 

[I have..]

1. I have been arrested No
-If yes, please describe the circumstances
2. I have been denied a visa No
-If yes, please describe the circumstances
3. I have family obligation to send money home No
-If yes, please describe the circumstances
4. I have religious restrictions or observances No
-Please describe your religious restrictions or observance
5. I have dietary requirements/Food restrictions No
-Please describe the food(s) you do not eat
6. I have friends / family in the U.S. Yes
-Please describe your relationship and where they live

My sister in law lives in California.

My friends live in Washington and New York

7. My religion is No religion
-Do you want to be placed with a religiously observant Host? Doesn’t Matter
8. Have you ever lived outside your family home? Yes
-Where I’ve lived in Moquegua and Lambayeque in Perú.
9. Have you ever visited the United States? Yes
-Please state when, how long and purpose(s).

I visited Orlando and Miami in 1997 for 10 days. I went for tourism.

10. Have you visited any other countries in the last five years? Yes
-List the countries and purpose of your visit(s)?

Argentina and Chile for tourism

 

[Training Objectives & Availability]

Provide a BRIEF description of your training objectives and the type of placement that you seek (80 words maximum!):

I want to learn everything about the process of producing ecologic vegetables and fruits, since the sprout of a seed, until the seed production. Also I want to learn about plague control, harvesting and ecologic/organic fertilization.

If is possible, I want to learn also about how to manage, plan and design a small farm, so then I can apply all this knowledge in my family farm

US Program I am applying for:
Certificate in Applied Agroecology and Exchange Program (CAAPX) : CAAPX also includes Affiliate program candidates.
I can start anytime within the next
1-12 months
I’m available to participate in US training for a maximum of:
8 months
I have already been accepted to train with the following US Host placement ( provide placement name and contact information)
 

[Self-Evaluation]

I am clear on my training objectives Yes! I want to be a farmer Yes!
I want a career in agriculture, but not necessarily as a farmer Mostly I like to have clear instructions before doing a task Yes!
I like to take initiative and start new projects Mostly I am flexible and able to adapt to sudden changes Yes!
I enjoy routine and consistency in my schedule Mostly I enjoy frequent challenges and new responsibilities Yes!
I ask for help if I don’t understand something Yes! I prefer to follow the lead of others Mostly
I like to offer suggestions and share my opinions Yes! I can do and be satisfied with repetetive tasks Mostly
I welcome critical feedback and use the information to improve myself Yes! I prefer working with others Yes!
I prefer working alone/independently Yes!    
 
[I am comfortable with…]
People of different religious beliefs Yes Receiving instruction from a female supervisor Yes
Having an un-married couple as my supervisors Yes Sharing a family house with children Yes
Sharing a family house with pets Yes Cooking my own daily meals Yes
Cooking for others once or twice each week Yes Sharing household chores (including cooking) Yes
Living/Training where my native language is not spoken Yes Living/Training in a remote, rural location where the Host family is my primary social group Yes
Living/Training where there is no public transportation Yes Training with farm animals Yes
Living/Training in very rustic living conditions (e.g. uninsulated lodging or tent sleeping, compost toilet, outdoor shower, wood-stove, other) Yes
If you selected “No” for any of the above, please state why you would not be comfortable
 

[Agricultural Experience]

 
How many years of agricultural experience do you have?
6-10
My hands-on experience in agriculture includes
less than 6 hours of manual labor per day.
I have the following agricultural experience
Academic courses in agriculture, Hands on farm labor (e.g. planting, weeding, harvesting, livestock care, etc.)
List any agriculture courses that you’ve taken

Urban farm

Global Food Systems

Any workshops in sustainable, organic or ecological farming? Please describe

[Work Experience]

Job #1

Ecologic family farm

Dates worked : from – to 2015 – 2021
Primary work duties

I am charge of logistic (coordination with some producers) and operational tasks in food production (dehydrate vegetables and fruits, create new products)

Job #2

Family business “Productos Naturales Chacrasana” / Lima / Logistic and production

Dates worked: from – to 2019 – 2021
Primary work duties
 
[Family Farm]
If you grew up on a family farm, what type of farm? ecological farm
If your family has a farm, please describe its products, sales, etc.:

vegetables (green leaves, roots, tubers, fuits) and fruits trees (mango, avocado, lemon, papaya, passion fruit and some native fruits as lucuma, guanabana, chirimoya)

If you help with your family farm, please describe your responsibilities

My general responsabilities are weeding, harvesting, collecting fruits and then process it.

On my family farm, I work Part Time
If you are currently employed, do you plan to return to this same job after MESA? Yes
Please state why or why not

I want to learn more about ecologic farms and the apply all that knowledge to start new projects in my family farm.

 
[Skills]
Please describe any volunteer activities or community groups you are affiliated with, if any
Please list the type(s) of farm machinery, tractors and/or vehicles that you’re experienced using
If you have any mechanical repair skills, please describe
Please describe specific agricultural and/or work skills that a prospective Host may like to know

I have experience in transplanting, harvesting, collecting seeds and processing foods in small-scale.

Any additional skills or specialties you’d like a prospective Host to know about you?

I have a good attitude and aptitude to learn new things and I fullfill my responsabilities. As an archaeologist, I have an special interest in recovering and producing native and heriloom plants.

 

[Training Objectives & Preferred Host Placements]

   
First Choice Vegetables
Provide additional examples for your selected choice
Do you have hands-on experience in your 1st choice? Yes
Describe any experience you have in your 1st placement choice

We produce many vegetables on our family farm, and that is how we learned to process them to preserve them with different techniques.

Second Choice Farm education – Community
Provide additional examples for your selected choice
Do you have hands-on experience in your 2nd choice? Yes
Describe any experience you have in your 2nd placement choice

I have studies related to no formal education.

Third Choice Seed producers
Provide additional examples for your selected choice
Do you have hands-on experience in your 3rd choice? Yes
Describe any experience you have in your 3rd placement choice

In a small and artesanal scale, in my family farm we produce some seeds.

Choose up to 5 other areas of interest that will help MESA match you with your US Host Biodynamic farming, Bio-intensive (mini) farming, Farm therapy (for disabled, at-risk teenagers, rehabilitation, etc.), Urban agriculture, Youth & farm education

Required

Applicant Photo
Reference Letter1  
Reference Letter2

Optional files to strengthen your application:

Your Personal statement  
C.V. or Resumé, if you have one https://apply.mesaprogram.org/wp-content/uploads/sites/4/formidable/124/PERSONAL-STATEMENT-Gabriela-De-Los-Rios-F..docx.pdf

Return to Listings