MESA Applicants – Host View

<- Return to Listings |

Sharon Helen Jurado Reyes

Available beginning in August 2023

[Personal Information]

Age 25 Sex Female
Date of Birth January 12, 1997    
Birthplace city/town Lima/Lima    
Citizen of Peru Resident Country Peru
Email Address [email protected] Passport Name Jurado Reyes
 
I live with my parents Height 1.56 m Weight 52 Kg
 
I am currently.. Working on a farm – Part-time, Volunteering/Apprentincing
Main Occupation or Current Field of Study Agricultural engineer
# Years of Experience in above work or study 6 years
Highest Degree or Certificate Awarded or Expected Bachelor’s Degree in Agriculture
Date Degree/Certificate was Awarded or is Expected June 16, 2022
Highest Level of Education College/University
Highest Degree or Certificate College/University Degree
What is the Title of Your Degree? Graduate student
 
I drink beer/wine/alcohol Infrequently/only on special occassions I smoke never
   
 

[Home Address]

Street/Apartment # Jr. Fortaleza de Paramonga Mz. I’1. 176. Urb. Portada del Sol III etapa. La Molina. Apartment 101 City Lima State/Province La Molina/Lima
Country Peru/Lima Postal Code (+51) 945989973  
 

[Telephone Number]

Country code 51 City code 1 Phone Number 945989973
 

[Emergency Contact]

Name Elena Reyes Heredia Relationship Mother Phone Number or email +51 996703253
 

[Family&Health]

I have(#of brothers, #of sisters, #of children) 1, 1, 1 I am Single
My health is Excellent. I’ve never had a serious illness or injury.
Describe any recent or chronic illnesses or injuries. If you require ongoing medicines or treatment, please describe.

I had allergy to shrimps.

 

[English Skills]

My English comprehension and conversational skills are 80% I can have a basic conversation on topics like politics, religion, or the environment
If you checked 30% or less, how will you improve your English between now and U.S. arrival?
I have received formal English instruction/training (check all that apply):
Or (check if applicable)…
 

 

[Driving Skill]

I know how to drive a car Yes
I have a valid home country driver’s license Yes
How many years have you driven cars?
I drive Not very often
I have driven cars with Automatic transmission only
If required for training, I am comfortable driving a car in Rural areas
 

[I have..]

1. I have been arrested No
-If yes, please describe the circumstances
2. I have been denied a visa No
-If yes, please describe the circumstances
3. I have family obligation to send money home No
-If yes, please describe the circumstances
4. I have religious restrictions or observances No
-Please describe your religious restrictions or observance
5. I have dietary requirements/Food restrictions No
-Please describe the food(s) you do not eat
6. I have friends / family in the U.S. Yes
-Please describe your relationship and where they live

She is my aunt and lives in Connecticut

7. My religion is No religion
-Do you want to be placed with a religiously observant Host? No
8. Have you ever lived outside your family home? Yes
-Where In Huaura/Perú
9. Have you ever visited the United States? Yes
-Please state when, how long and purpose(s).

2008, for 1 month, with the purpose of tourism

10. Have you visited any other countries in the last five years? No
-List the countries and purpose of your visit(s)?
 

[Training Objectives & Availability]

Provide a BRIEF description of your training objectives and the type of placement that you seek (80 words maximum!):

The objectives I seek are to be able to learn more about the agriculture of this country based on technologies directed towards agroecology that allow me to expand my knowledge and at the same time be able to replicate it in my own country, in the same way I would like to experience another type of culture and exchange knowledge with all kinds of people, the position I am looking for is focused on research and the dissemination of new agroecological knowledge.

US Program I am applying for:
Sustinable Agriculture and Global Exchange (SAGE): First-time participants
I can start anytime within the next
1-12 months
I’m available to participate in US training for a maximum of:
1 year (maximum)
I have already been accepted to train with the following US Host placement ( provide placement name and contact information)
 

[Self-Evaluation]

I am clear on my training objectives Yes! I want to be a farmer No
I want a career in agriculture, but not necessarily as a farmer Yes! I like to have clear instructions before doing a task Mostly
I like to take initiative and start new projects Yes! I am flexible and able to adapt to sudden changes Yes!
I enjoy routine and consistency in my schedule No I enjoy frequent challenges and new responsibilities Yes!
I ask for help if I don’t understand something Yes! I prefer to follow the lead of others No
I like to offer suggestions and share my opinions Yes! I can do and be satisfied with repetetive tasks Mostly
I welcome critical feedback and use the information to improve myself Yes! I prefer working with others Yes!
I prefer working alone/independently Mostly    
 
[I am comfortable with…]
People of different religious beliefs Yes Receiving instruction from a female supervisor Yes
Having an un-married couple as my supervisors Yes Sharing a family house with children Yes
Sharing a family house with pets Yes Cooking my own daily meals Yes
Cooking for others once or twice each week Yes Sharing household chores (including cooking) Yes
Living/Training where my native language is not spoken Yes Living/Training in a remote, rural location where the Host family is my primary social group Yes
Living/Training where there is no public transportation Yes Training with farm animals Yes
Living/Training in very rustic living conditions (e.g. uninsulated lodging or tent sleeping, compost toilet, outdoor shower, wood-stove, other) Yes
If you selected “No” for any of the above, please state why you would not be comfortable
 

[Agricultural Experience]

 
How many years of agricultural experience do you have?
6-10
My hands-on experience in agriculture includes
less than 6 hours of manual labor per day.
I have the following agricultural experience
Academic courses in agriculture, Supervising farm workers, Administrative/office work involving agriculture, Advising farmers about organic methods and/or certification, Hands on farm labor (e.g. planting, weeding, harvesting, livestock care, etc.)
List any agriculture courses that you’ve taken

Agricultural plant pathology

Agricultural entomology

Seed management and conservation

Olericulture

Agricultural extension

Agrotechnics

Any workshops in sustainable, organic or ecological farming? Please describe

– Course of Olericulture: here I learn all about organic farming, where I had to cultivate a piece of land from the beginning based in agroecological methods and growing more than 30 species.

– Perucano Institute Fellowship 2020 in Applied

Agroecology: here I learn to discuss about Agroecological topics related to the national situation of my country and of all around the world, also how to empower people to make action.

[Work Experience]

Job #1

Family farm/Huarochirí-Perú/Assistant/Farm assistant

Dates worked : from – to 2018 – 2021
Primary work duties

• Carry out nutrition trials, crop biometric evaluations.

• Evaluate substrate conductivity.

• Analysis and decision making for the nutrition according to crop phenology.

• Management of people in my charge.

Job #2

Inka’s berries company/ Huaura-Perú/ Supervisor/ Supervisor and evaluator in a blueberry fertigation area

Dates worked: from – to January 2021 – December 2021
Primary work duties
 
[Family Farm]
If you grew up on a family farm, what type of farm? Agroecological farm
If your family has a farm, please describe its products, sales, etc.:

We cultivate more than 50 species of plants, like: avocado, tangerine, pink berry, pumpkin, cherimoya, lettuce, carrot, tomato, beetroot, turnip, coriander, parsley, corn, etc.

We produce then just for our consume, we send them also to all our relatives and we share with our neighbors.

If you help with your family farm, please describe your responsibilities

– To prune the plants based on my knowledge of sanitary pruning of production at specific times.

– Foliage wash for pest control

– Harvest

– Hilling

– Organic fertilization

On my family farm, I work Part Time
If you are currently employed, do you plan to return to this same job after MESA? Not Applicable
Please state why or why not
 
[Skills]
Please describe any volunteer activities or community groups you are affiliated with, if any

I have a community group called ” Enverdúrate” focused in developing biogardens in poor areas of my city, we have recently got a grant from MESA for the value of 1000 $, I have done this project previously with other communities like a volunteer work.

Please list the type(s) of farm machinery, tractors and/or vehicles that you’re experienced using

Tractors

If you have any mechanical repair skills, please describe

I know about hydraulics and electricity

Please describe specific agricultural and/or work skills that a prospective Host may like to know

I can supervise many kinds of agricultural activities, like harvesting, pruning, fertilization, etc.)

I know how to implement organic farms.

I can harvest many kinds of vegetables (carrots, lettuce, pumpkins, etc.)

I can harvest fruits (blueberry, lemon, avocado, tangerine).

I have experience in pruning citrus species, avocado, berries.

I know how to irrigate by gravity irrigation.

Any additional skills or specialties you’d like a prospective Host to know about you?

I have done research projects related to seed banks, native seed conservation, and I have participated in other ones so I have knowledge in this field.

I am fond of hydraulic and electrical systems as well so if they are of use for my work it is a pleasure.

I’m used to trekking and I like extreme sports so I’m not afraid of working in the nature.

I consider that I’m a good leader, good communicative skills, empathy, resilience, and always try to be better.

 

[Training Objectives & Preferred Host Placements]

   
First Choice Seed production
Provide additional examples for your selected choice
Do you have hands-on experience in your 1st choice? Yes
Describe any experience you have in your 1st placement choice

In my family farm, I have produced seeds from all kind of vegetables (coriander, corn, legumes, pumpkin, carrot, etc.) and ornamental flowers, since we used them for the next campaign of production/ place: Huarochiri-Lima/ Years: 4

Second Choice Nursery/Green house
Provide additional examples for your selected choice
Do you have hands-on experience in your 2nd choice? No
Describe any experience you have in your 2nd placement choice
Third Choice agroecological research
Provide additional examples for your selected choice
Do you have hands-on experience in your 3rd choice? Yes
Describe any experience you have in your 3rd placement choice

I have made many projects in my college and also in my family farm we have made trials using medicinal herbs against fungus and bacteria diseases that affect plants /place: Huarochirí-Lima/ years: 4

Choose up to 5 other areas of interest that will help MESA match you with your US Host Biological Pest Control, Conversation & habitat restoration, Forestry, Irrigation, Medicinal plants

Required

Applicant Photo
Reference Letter1  
Reference Letter2

Optional files to strengthen your application:

Your Personal statement  
C.V. or Resumé, if you have one https://apply.mesaprogram.org/wp-content/uploads/sites/4/formidable/124/Resume-MESA-application.pdf

Return to Listings